PNWDS - PNWDualSport
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
PNWDS - PNWDualSport

A Place to Share Your Dual Sport Passion

Established Jan 03, 2009

HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

What is legal dual sport

Go down 
5 posters
AuthorMessage
Oncorhynchus

What is legal dual sport Empty
PostSubject: What is legal dual sport   What is legal dual sport Icon_minitime1/18/2017, 9:53 am

Howdy,

I'm wondering what constitutes a "dual sport" bike in the eyes of Oregon law.    

I'm totally new to all this.  I'm thinking of getting a used TTR250 for use as a trail bike (I'm 6'0'', 190 lbs).  I want to maximize the number of places I can ride legally, hence my question about dual sport.  What kind of mods would I need to make a TTR250 "dual sport" in Oregon?

Thanks,

-Oncorhynchus
Back to top Go down
Inspector
Inspector

Bike : Beta 400rr

PostSubject: Re: What is legal dual sport   What is legal dual sport Icon_minitime1/19/2017, 11:08 am

Welcome HI

Not sure about Oregon but here in Washington I believe It's

License plate
turn signals
Headlight
Horn
Mirrors

Basically you end up taking it to a place that does these things and then gets you licensed for a fee.
Hopefully someone from OR will set us straight.
Back to top Go down
dannych

dannych

Bike : 1983 Honda XL 600

PostSubject: Re: What is legal dual sport   What is legal dual sport Icon_minitime2/4/2017, 1:40 pm

http://www.odot.state.or.us/forms/dmv/6367.pdf
It has motorcycle specifications about page 9.
It also mentioned dirt bike mods.
Back to top Go down
Oncorhynchus

PostSubject: Re: What is legal dual sport   What is legal dual sport Icon_minitime2/4/2017, 8:21 pm

Thanks!
Back to top Go down
camdon44

Bike : 09 KTM 400 XC-W, 02 Suzuki DRZ400E,2010 KTM 400XC-W,2012 BMW K1600 GTL,1981 Honda GL500 Silverwing with Velorex sidecar, 1973 Yamaha RT3 360 Enduro restored.